Armistice Day ....

.... 100 year anniversary.

I wanted to do something special for today's 100 year anniversary of the end of The Great War.  Here in the States we celebrate the day as Veterans Day ... which honors veterans of all the wars.

But I wanted to honor someone that served in WWI.  Of course my first thought was visiting a local cemetery.  So off we went to Hope Cemetery in Lower Nazareth.  We walked around looking at the graves that had American flags on them ..... that's how we know that they were veteran's.

I was immediately drawn to the grave of this young man .... Pvt. Clayton Danial Beers.  I have no connection to him but I was still drawn to him. I got quite emotional simply walking through the cemetery thinking of all these lost young men and women.  

This star on Clayton's headstone reads:
In Honor of Clayton Daniel Beers
Co. L-18 BN-INF. Repl. and TR. Camp
Supreme Sacrifice
Died in Service
Camp Lee, Virginia
Born Dec. 19 1893    Died Oct. 3, 1918

He was only 24 years old.

At the bottom of his headstone was the following:
I have fought a good fight,
I have finished my course,
I have kept the faith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.