Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Deerpark

I took two photos of the tiny settlement in Glen Massan today, but opted for the romance of the houses at twilight with the romance implied by the lights from the windows. What you can't get from this is the smell of woodsmoke - I suspect everyone who lives here burns wood, and wonder if in fact the majority of the houses, which are wooden, were built when the area was being developed for forestry.

There are two semi-detached sandstone houses in the village, which look to be older, and the river winds round the back of the site. Ever since I first came across this place, I have been reminded of childhood holidays - walking back to our cottage on the outskirts of a village, smelling the wood smoke and looking forward to my tea. In these days (I'm talking the early 1950s) that would likely be a boiled egg followed by a floury muffin and strawberry jam; we ate our main meal at middays in holidays unless we were off up a mountain)

Tonight, however, I was thinking more of the relief that we'd got back down the glen while we could still see the road. Just. Note to self: get out earlier!

And don't you think that line in the sky looks like a comet? Suspect a plane, but ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.