Dancersend

By Dancersend

Miniature triffids

I'm getting some interest from mycologists in these amazing gall-like growths I found on an old dried-up leaf or section of bark in my garden. I think they are caused by a species of Gymnosporangium rust fungus. These rusts are known to infect apple, pear, rose and Sorbus plants and trigger the growth of medusa like fruiting structures. The spores must then find a member of the juniper family to complete the next stage of the life cycle. Trees nearby include crab-apples, quince and there is a juniper in the garden. However, the growths I've found look too large and contorted for any of the known UK species. The nearest match I've found is G. yamadae (found on Malus) known as a problem for orchards in Asia, but not supposed to be in Europe yet! Hoping to get some microscopic investigation done now.

I've just renewed my subscription to Blipfoto and hope to start posting again, however I just don't have time to comment and answer comments regularly and this has inhibited me from posting recently. I've turned off the commenting function on my posts and will see how it goes for a while.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.