The Whys Man

By WhysMan2

In the eye of the beholder

Saturdays, if you've been following this journal, you'll know are often days when work on the website for schools can become the central focus of activity. The schools themselves are closed so no visits, emails or phone-calls to make.

Schools are already accessing the website, through a route not yet open to the public, as it is being created, and in fact have given the direction for its creation and the priorities in adding more images and information.

Today, we've been adding videos, some of them shot this week in schools where pupils have already visited the exhibition. The camera turned on them to see the exhibition through the eyes of the young (nine and ten year-old) beholders...

"My favourite George Wyllie sculpture is the 'Paper Boat' because I thought it would be really hard to build it because all the boat industries are going down."

"Well, my favourite part was the picture of the boat because it had lots of colours on it and it looked very nice to me, and I liked the big fireworks because there were beautiful colours."

"My favourite part of the exhibition was the robin because I really like birds."

"I liked the way it sails on the water. It's a big paper boat and it sails on the water. I think that's pretty impressive for a sculpture."

"I like the cowboy stuff. It was made out of towels and soap because I thought it was really silly and I thought it was, like, cool and I thought it was quite funny as well and that's why it was my favourite."


... the exhibition in the eyes of the beholders. Confident contributors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.