FLOWER FRIDAY - ANOTHER ROSE FOUND!

When Mr. HCB got up at about 7 a.m. I could hear the rain battering on the window, so decided to snuggle down and enjoy some more sleep.  I had been up until 1.30 a.m. so didn’t feel too guilty.

However, when I eventually got up at 9.30 it had stopped raining, so I had a quick meander round the garden looking for something to photograph, as I do like to use our own flowers for Flower Friday whenever possible.

There are still quite a few pinks flowering, but then I spied this little rose, so as I thought a couple of weeks ago that I had seen our last rose, thought that this one should have its fifteen minutes of fame on Blip - it even reminded me of the song, "Raindrops on Roses"!

Another hour saw the sun out - what a surprise!  As we had quite a lot of flyers to deliver for our Christmas services at Church, we decided that we would go while it was dry and quite enjoyed our wander round.  Mind you, I don’t envy the postmen and women their job, as some of the letterboxes “snapped” my fingers and some were so low down it was a struggle to put the cards through.  Fortunately, I didn’t encounter any snarling dogs behind the doors, so that was good.  I did, however, use the time to bless each household as I walked up their path and put the card through the door.

We ended our morning by knocking the door of Jean, a friend of ours.  Both she and her husband have both been poorly, and although we didn’t go in, it was good to see her to have a chat and to give her our good wishes for Christmas.  Recently, Jean and her daughter, Sue, had been to see her son, Chris, who was so kind to us when we went in Hong Kong, - and she even brought me back a lovely gift - a beautiful “Jimmy Choo” handbag - so kind of her.  

The rest of the day has been spent shopping and then playing Cribbage with Mr. HCB - we now have an official Cribbage Tournament sheet and I have to say it is very close at the moment, he has won 22 games and I have won 21 - better see if I can draw level this evening.

Christmas gift suggestions:
To your enemy, forgiveness.
To an opponent, tolerance.
To a friend, your heart.
To a customer, service.
To all, charity.
To every child, a good example.
To yourself, respect.”
Oren Arnold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.