Decorated...

...with ice! I went to Grant Park Beach this morning, and from the VANTAGE point of the bridge that spans the inlet, I took some pictures looking down onto the frozen water. I put some of them in the extras--again just because I have so many extras left--the first two were taken from on the bridge, & the bottle was on the ground along the walkway. (There's one that [to me] looks like a giant frozen bug, with its' antenna sticking up out of the ice) I should mention that while the inlet leading to Lake Michigan is frozen all the way across, Lake Michigan itself has never completely frozen over. It came very close in 1963, with some reports on the news saying that it had, but aerial pictures proved it still had many seams of open water. Lake Ontario has likewise never frozen over, but the other three Great Lakes--Superior, Huron and Erie--HAVE frozen over during a few harsh winters since 1900.
A big thanks to JohnEdwards for hosting MonoMonday, and for his theme of "Vantage". :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.