LIBRARY DAY

Today was assigned as “library day” when we decided to take books back and choose some more - so that we have plenty of reading material over Christmas.  Because Mr. HCB can’t get out into the garden very much, especially when it is raining - and we have had lots of the wet stuff just recently, we wanted to actually go (a split infinitive is fine now, according to Giles Brandreth!) and visit the library, rather than just renew books online.

We always go in on the bus, as we get free bus passes and it is a nightmare to park anyway, let alone just before Christmas - so we usually get off before the bus reaches the town centre and then walk up to the library.  On our way, we saw some Council workmen and as I had my phone out, I snapped them.  Steve, the one on the back of the lorry asked why I was taking photographs, so I did explain about Blip and he was quite happy with that.  After chatting with him for a while, we set off to the library.

It was a beautiful morning - with a lovely blue sky so it was quite a pleasant ten minute walk.  I had seen a Christmas book display earlier in the week, so headed straight for that, leaving Mr. HCB to sort out returning the books.  What caught my eye was the book entitled “A Swedish Christmas”.  Blip friend, HarlingDarling, lives in Sweden and we are always intrigued with the things she makes, recycles and repurposes, so I decided to get this book for some ideas - for next Christmas!  

There are some lovely crafty things in the book and I particularly like the Wrist Warmers, so will try and do some knitting in the next few months.  I haven’t done much lately, because my thumbs have been very sore, but if I don’t push myself too much, I should be all right.  None of the other books really appealed to me, and as I am not cooking Christmas Day lunch, didn’t feel the need to get any of them!

The collage also shows a view of our Town Hall clock - which I always like to see when walking down the library stairs - and it shows the wonderful blue sky.

Just had an invitation to go over to some friends for a cuppa and a Blip friend has just asked if she can pop in and see us on Saturday - it’s so hard being retired but it does beat going out to work!  

“The greatest gift you can ever own
     is not found in the shops
          or under your Christmas tree.
It is found in the hearts
     of your loving family
          and your true friends.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.