Homelessness

"We can't help everyone, but everyone can help someone" (Ronald Reagan, US president 1981-1989).

I don't know if Reagan followed this missive but I think it a very appropriate quotation that we should all consider, especially at this time of year.

While we are indulging ourselves with pre Christmas festivities - over eating and drinking, spending excessive amounts and acquiring huge credit bills, there are other less fortunate people whose only home is a shop doorway.

Today the news focused on the increase in homelessness and the number of people who are dying on the streets. This is a disgrace and one that governments should immediately address. Prime Minister May is spending £2bn of tax payers money informing us of what might happen in the event of a BREXIT no deal. I don't think the so called rough sleepers relying on the generosity of passers by could give a ........

There is one homeless man that sits outside Asda in my local shopping centre. When I passed him the other day I saw that in his two bags he had a hot water bottle and a duvet, as well as all his possessions. I went back and gave him the change that I had in my purse. Afterwards I felt quite bad as i had just been to the cash machine and he was so grateful for the small amount.

I thought about him during the week as I slept in my wam comfortable bed and today returned to see him. He told me that he slept in an old car that he couldn't drive as it was not insured and he was very pleased that the church had invited him to Christmas lunch. I gave him some money and he was overwhelmed. Such a lovely man, probably in his 40s. I bought him some packaged biscuits as they looked quite tasty.

The Big Issue seller was a few yards away and I bought the Christmas issue.

Not much really, but hopefully I have helped someone today .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.