a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Peaceful times

"There might have been things I missed, but don't be unkind,
It don't mean I'm blind.
Perhaps there's a thing or two I think of (lying in bed)
I shouldn't have said;


But, there it is.


You see, it's all clear:
You were meant to be here, from the beginning.


Maybe I might have changed and not been so cruel,
Not been such a fool.
Whatever was done is done - I just can't recall,
It doesn't matter at all.


You see, it's all clear:
You were meant to be here, from the beginning."

Emmerson Lake and Palmer ~ From the beginning

Cathy and I went for a lovely walk this afternoon across the nearby fields and I took this shot on the way back.  Evidence of the recent downpours is still very much in evidence as you can see.  I'm enjoying listening to some of the presents I've been given including ELP's progtastic "Trilogy" from 1972, from which the above lyric is taken.

Our niece Charlotte left at 6am this morning to Cath the train to Cumbria to join her boyfriend's family leaving us with the house back to ourselves once more.  Time to relax and just enjoy each other's company.  Its been one of those lovely quiet reflective Christmas holiday days - pottering about tidying up after the festivities but now working too hard at it.  The song seems strangely appropriate.  :-)   

Like many of the rest of you we will be eating up the Christmas left overs for days yet.  I rather enjoy finding different ways of eating the turkey - it should have been a pomegranate salad today, but Waitrose have let us down and we will need to go further afield for the pomegranates tomorrow. So instead its going to be a turkey balti curry this evening. Mmm - can't wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.