Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A white and blue day

I was very tired last night so I decided not to get up early to go skiing today. Adam had booked himself onto a one day ski race training day and set his alarm to get up early, but his phone did not automatically adjust to the different time zone so it went off 1 hour late, and he was consequently late. Gavin went skiing by himself and was later joined by Thomas, while I stayed home with Luke (Luke cannot ski for another year due to his knee surgery) Luke and I walked into the village to get the gondola up to the top where we met the others for a light lunch. 

I took this photo from outside the mountain restaurant just as the gondola was coming up. There is a good view over the valley showing the village below.

After lunch Luke, Adam and I went home - Luke back to writing his university course essays and dissertation, and Adam did not want to ski too much as he says the skiing negatively affects his weight lifting training which at this point is of importance as he has a competition coming up. 

On our walk down to the village I bumped into two of our neighbours from our apartment building. Every year I bring them something small from the UK for Christmas and this year attached to their Christmas cards was a box of Heston Blumenthal mince pies, because of course you don't get mince pies here! They seemed to like them very much. In exchange they often give us some nusstorte which is a local traditional baked treat (A tart filled with caramel and nuts)

It was a beautiful day today, with bright blue skies and very sunny. I think tomorrow will be more of the same so I must stop being so lazy and go ski tomorrow, although to be honest I am feeling a little nervous after Luke's skiing accident in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.