Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Walk around the park

I got woken by pigeons today. They like to cosy up to each other in the alcove with the extractor fan. I'm afraid it's just annoying and it is too high to install pigeon spikes. So, while I was up, I made tea.

The morning seemed to vanish, mainly with me trying to sort out a few issues with the local telco. Somehow, my identity has been compromised and I have lost the ability to pay my bill online. I also discovered that despite my SIM having mobile data switched off, somehow I have been charged close to £20 for roaming mobile data use! I had to really stand my ground to get those charges reversed!

On with the day and G decided we should have a walk around the park, so we did that after the sun went down. The weather was definitely pleasant; it is the time of year to enjoy the outdoors. The walk around the park's jogging track is around 2km and gives plenty of angles to get shots of Dubai Frame which I have to say, is now a year old! We still haven't been; will do asap. In the meantime, it was great to be so close to it and get some shots.

The first major sporting event of the year - the Asian Cup started today. It's a FIFA organised tournament to establish who the best football team in Asia is. Somehow, the Socceroos are in it, in fact, they are the defending champions.

One of the stadiums being used is in walking distance from the flat so today, I booked tickets to watch the first match being played there. South Korea vs the Philippines on Monday! Should be interesting. Total damage to the pocket - £10 - ha! And that wasn't even the cheapest ticket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.