One of a Kind

Crocus hartmannianus, the rarest crocus that I grow.  This is the first one I have grown in my thirty years as a 'Croconut.'   It was raised from seed (of cultivated plants) sown in 2015.  It's known in the wild in just a couple of locations on Cyprus where around 6000 individuals have been recorded.   Although very rare both in the wild and in cultivation, it is not difficult to grow given a warm, dry summer rest and through increase of cultivated stocks is beginning to be more widely grown.  

Another quiet day at home as Jamie fights off a vicious cold.  
Nice chat with my sister this morning.  She rang to remind me that The Young Uns were on 6 Music this morning promoting their new album, The Ballad of Johnny Longstaff.  Must book tickets for when it comes to Bury St Edmunds next month.  

A sign of age?  I enjoyed an extended nap this afternoon :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.