Tracks In the Forest.....

Even though today was a bonsai day, my Blip is about tracks........
I took the girls out in the forest to have a mile walk before I sat down to begin the bonsai.
     When we got out to the sandy trails that were carved out by 4 wheelers, I unleashed the girls and we were off............   until we came upon some horse dung.   The girls had not smelled that before, so I quickly covered it with the sand.  Then I notice several hoof prints in the sand.  When a horse walks in dry sand, the sand caves in from the edges but where they roll over the front part of the hoof, you could see the scooping motion the hoof creates.  I think there were 2 horses and 1 pony, based on the size of the hoof prints.  The photo on the left is a horse, probably a size 1 shoe.  Thats like saying a size 6 for a woman or man.  Another track smaller, maybe an aught, or 0.   The 3rd print I saw was probably the poniy's....  very small and filled in with sand.
       The print on the right is either a possum or raccoon.  I lean towards a possum because they have longer toes, and I think raccoons feet are more webbed and short for swimming.  This is not what I expected to be blipping, but things just show up.  The photos were taken with my iPhone and not the best.  Sand is hard to capture, especially  when it has trickled downward.
     More Bonsai tomorrow.....  who knows what I will find?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.