click n run

I didn't notice at the time that the man in blue was doing a similar thing to me and taking pictures as he ran.

I say similar as I was not running and was not using my phone.  I've been taking my camera since I have been unable to run and if there are no other volunteer photographers, I volunteer to take a few as I walk round.  

Today I did set up and was tail-walking too.  It has made me ponder how many roles would be the maximum anyone has done in one week.  I know that some events have very few runners/volunteers so I am guessing it could be quite a high number.

I tail walked with two interesting ladies, one of which is allergic to rubber.  As most running shoes, she said, contain rubber, she is trying to get used to taking part bare foot.   It will be interesting to see how that goes.

We talked about the surface under her feet and it had me wondering what it would be like to 'feel' parkrun and if I could do it blindfolded one day too.

I also had a 'conversation' with a man (I didn't say much at all) about how much more welcoming Maldon is than where he lived where everyone is racist.  He said that he would move back to Maldon if he could afford to and explained that he was of Scandinavian descent. 

I found it strange that he singled me out to speak to (he wasn't a parkrunner).  The friend I was with suggested it is because I look and smile at people where many people avert their eyes.  I also found it strange that he would think that Maldon is any better or worse than his home town in terms of acceptance.  I have been reflecting on diversity and my own behaviour amongst people not like me this week.  I don't recall seeing a black face in Maldon for the first 13 years of my life.

I would guess that 95% plus of the local community is made up of white british/christian folk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.