A smattering

The snow is slushy and unpleasant but looks quite pretty here. Unfortunately, it meant it wasn't great for my 90 year old to come with me for wanders in town - too miserable and dank and definitely not weather for browsing shops.

The hunt for napkin rings is still on although I did find a number (later discounted by Dad from the phone photos I took). I've one more place in Shrewsbury to look, otherwise we will move operations south to Hereford next week.

The landscape gardening gang were here in the sleet/snow to do some remedial work this morning as the compacted gravel wasn't deep enough to discourage worms - loads of worm casts which equals more weeds to be rid of later. I'm not totally convinced our makeover is going to work without having to get a gardener in, and that's precisely what we hoped to avoid.

This afternoon has been occupied with Dad, tutoring him on the new laptop he bought last Sept in Orkney. Unfortunately, he hasn't opened it since then so the first task was allowing it to perform an update which took a while. Dad isn't blessed with an optimistic outlook so this afternoon has been somewhat exhausting, fielding many comments usually prefaced with his favourite phrase, "The trouble is ..."! I do genuinely sympathise, but I admit to a thinning of patience. Thank goodness LH stepped in with his calmness and savvy when appropriate. I believe Dad can see the new system will be much easier, but he is understandably very frustrated by his terrible eyesight issues - the worst thing for a man with a naturally curious nature and a desire to record his observations.

Tonight I'm breaking the alcohol embargo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.