Ganesha

Tim and I used part of my Mum's Christmas present and went on an excellent guided walk this morning - this one.  It was incredibly chilly and despite being bundled up warm, we did get rather cold after an hour or so.  We ended up in the café at the Globe, where our tour guide showed us various things she had found on the Thames foreshore.  There were many artifacts far older than this (including a flint tool from 8,000 BC!), but I really liked this one as it was so unexpected.  Apparently the Thames has been blessed by Hindus and offerings such as these are thrown into it.  Behind Ganesha in this photo is a brick from a herringbone floor.  I forget how old it was now, but just out of shot is a stack of roof tiles dating back to 1485.

Needless to say, I'll soon be making use of the other part of my Christmas present and applying for a mudlarking licence!

Got home at lunchtime and spent much of the afternoon trying to warm up (Tim more than me, surprisingly).  Called my Mum to update her on the walk, and had a nice chat with her - after my brother had also called me on the way home.  Veggie burgers and wedges for dinner, and a nice easy evening snuggled up in front of the TV :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.