Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Little holly from great beeches grow!

I was sad to see that this tree has been cut down in the grounds of the Maidencraig flats. Sadly I can't remember what it was and don't recognise the bark... well it looks rather like a cherry but I think the tree was too big for that. I suppose it could be a form of beech. I shall investigate further. Sadly it's not on the Edinburgh tree map so that doesn't really help me and the only other picture I have of it is without leaves. What I am sure of though is that it is not a holly, so I was amused to see this little sapling growing at the top of it, and amused that the tree fellers left it there. Perhaps the rest of the tree is coming down soon, but it's nice to see this little bit of life on an otherwise dead tree. Having said that the cut branch surfaces actually look quite healthy.
We went out to Livingston today and did some shopping, looking in at some of the outlet shops too. After we got home I did a quick sortie to Craigleith to boost my steps then home for some of my latest batch of chicken and leek soup, yummy.
A quiet evening with a couple of reports completed.
Step count a healthy 14943, 3 days out of 3 completed this week so only 2 to go which is good as I'm driving down to Cumbria on Tuesday so am unlikely to manage much walking on that day.
I set myself a 75 mile target for this month but I think I'm going to change it to 100 as I've already done over 80. I didn't want to set myself something unrealistic and put myself under unnecessary pressure while planning to go away but in fact all seems on track for over 100.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.