A Gift of the Vortex: Frost Flowers

"Yeah, baby! We're vortexing!" said my husband. And indeed, vortexing we are. Temperatures where we live, in central Pennsylvania, have been hovering around minus 6 degrees F. The air itself sparkles with crystals. Yes, it feels really, really cold.

Given the conditions, Penn State cancelled classes for Thursday, and so I got a free day off. "House party!" I hollered as I came through the door on Wednesday night. Let no one believe that joy at unexpected cancellations is the property of school children alone. :-)

Frost patterns formed on the deck door windows from the cold, and they almost looked like flowers to me. I took a few minutes as the sun set on Thursday to snap photos of the prettiest ones. So above you may see one of my cool blue frost flowers, a gift of the winter vortex of January 2019!

This is an unusual variety of wildflower, so I'm including an appropriate song: Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, and Linda Ronstadt, with Wildflowers, from the album Trio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.