dreaming

By dreaming

Settling in

I am happy to say that adult tutoring has been canceled for this Saturday, so I don't have to worry about that.  That's a good thing, as we are apparently looking toward 3-8 inches of snow starting tomorrow afternoon and lasting well into Saturday, with the lows in the 20's to keep it all frozen hard for several days.

So today was my day to get myself ready.  I returned my library books and picked up some new ones, filled the gas tank in my car, and watered Lex's plants; these animal and bird footprints were found in her driveway.  Then I headed to Safeway to stock up on produce ($20.00 worth, paid for with vouchers!) and other things I'll need to keep myself in food for the duration. Fortunately, I didn't need to get in provisions for Minkelina - I've got lots of litter and chow.

The chicken broth I made yesterday is a bit lacking in flavor - I discovered I hadn't any bay leaves, and I forgot to buy parsley.  But it's in the fridge now, waiting to gel and have the fat rise to the top so I can skim it off.  Then I'll cook the broth again with the parsley and bay leaf and a few other herbs and spices to get it tasting right.  Certainly garlic and pepper.  And it will have NO sodium in it.

Take care of yourselves out there - between the snow and the ice and the freezing cold, the world outside our homes will be a dangerous one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.