A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Cake

I’ve done it again, brought my camera but not my card reader for the iPad. So had to go with the few pictures I took with my iPhone.

We met Grace at ‘Fed’ for brunch after she had a Yoga class and then walked down into the city centre. Good plan except after a bright but breezy start we had a deluge. So we arrived at MShed pretty wet. We got tickets for the Wildlife Photographer of the Year and had a bit less than a thirty minute wait. It always surprises me how popular it is especially when you consider it has been in since October. As usual it was excellent and the two winners outstanding, as was the People’s choice. It was a little harder to concentrate with Eda this year but I still didn’t find one that really grabbed me. Previously I have bought postcards of those I’ve liked the best but didn’t this year and sadly it tends to be those that shock that stay in your mind. Still I will be back again next year.
You can’t take photographs in the exhibition but we did pop into the main museum gallery and I loved the depiction of Bristol as a dinosaur. The artist had linked it with the story that the Avon Gorge was created by two giants. Eda has the book but having just got her to bed I’m not going back into her room to get it. It depicts the Clifton Suspension bridge above the gorge and the colourful higgledy piggledy houses you can see further down the river. It’s not very good as it is in a glass case and I couldn’t eliminate the reflections. Thought it was suitable for Silly Saturday but I’ve now swapped it for the extra.

We’d pretty much dried out by the time we left but decided to get the bus back. When we got home we had the delayed birthday cake (M&S by request) and a welcome cup of tea. Eda looked a bit concerned probably because at her birthday party she decided to touch her lit candle!

John bathed Eda and I’ve just done bedtime. They’ve gone out with friends on the raz for further birthday celebrations, I’m glad I’m staying in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.