Birchen Edge

Tony was orienteering in the Peak District today, on Birchen Edge.  With my knee still being problematic I decided against doing a course and instead walked out, with my walking pole, on to the edge to see what I could see.

This is just one of many 'Edges' in this part of the Peak District, formed by natural erosion, the exposed rocks being of the gritstone family.  I love the names of them: Stanage, Froggatt, Curbar, Birchen being just four of them.  It was very cold out above the rock cliffs with the wind coming straight up the face.  I lost gloves, lens cloth, lens cover at one point and decided not to tarry too long.  Making using of the air currents were a kestrel and several buzzards hanging there in the air, scouring the rocks and the forest below for prey.

After an hour, my fingers were frozen and my camera had given up functioning so I climbed the stile to the sheltered side of the wall and made my way back through the woodland and down to the car park where the delicious aromas of veggie chilli tacos on the wind from Podium catering made me hurry to the car for my wallet.  Tony arrived soon after, having enjoyed his outing on the moor.

I hope you appreciate how the rocks in the foreground mirror Froggatt Edge in the background!  A bit of arty farty blipping going on!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.