Skip's Blips

By Skip

Happy Valentine's Day

This Eastern bluebird was my valentine surprise this morning. I haven't seen one at the backyard buffet for many months. The weather hasn't  been welcoming for these little birds. I can't really blame them for finding a better location to wait out the wild, windy, frigid weather we have been experiencing in recent weeks, but I was overjoyed to see him this morning. Cross your fingers that he will return and hopefully bring his mate with him.

The extra for today is another huge surprise, a red-breasted nuthatch. We often see the white-breasted nuthatches, but this little one qualifies as a rarity in our backyard. The sky was overcast and dull this morning, so not conducive to backyard birding, but there he was, and I was very happy to blip him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.