Hellebore

My second Hellebore plant is blooming now....perfect timing since it is Flower Friday. Thanks Anni for continuing to host each week. 

The weather today was not perfect for gardening but since I don't have baby Ellie today, it was a perfect day for me to do some work in the garden. The soil is very wet....muddy.....soggy.....but that made it easier to dig up some plants I wanted to remove from my garden. Pulling weeds was easy too.......so I filled my yard debris bin to the brim. 

Tonight I attended a fund raiser for a program called Family Promise; I enjoyed the dinner and program.......but the best part was knowing about what they are doing in Washington County for  homeless families. It is one of the few programs that keeps families together.....usually the families have 3,4,5 or 6 children. The volunteers from many churches spoke about their experience helping provide the needs of these families. The main thing I heard was how devoted these parents were to their children.....making sure they had as normal life as possible as they spent days in a neighborhood house (each with their own bedroom where they could leave all their possessions) but they sleep at churches in the area each night (they stay at the same church for a week so they have an opportunity to develop a relationship with the volunteers at each church). Assistance in finding housing is given; families can stay for 6 weeks. I plan to start volunteering in the day time home and help with meals.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.