World Peace Sand Mandala

I had a few minutes to kill between buses, and I suddenly looked at the Pasquerilla spiritual center building (right across the street from the bus depot behind the library) and decided that it was time to go inside and see what neat stuff might be hiding in there. Yes, this is a thing I do often. This is MY campus. And I shall go exploring wherever I please!

There is a gorgeous sand mandala inside a display case by one of the main desks inside the building, and I stopped to take some photos. Its theme is world peace. The mandala was created by the Tashi Kyil Monastery, during a visit to Penn State on their October 2018 world tour.

In the middle of the circles we can see a world map etched in green and blue. A white elephant, a monkey, a white rabbit (I think), and a red bird appear at the center. (Which is kind of interesting and possibly even prescient. As I left this building, I encountered a red bird of my own: a cardinal in the snowy courtyard.)

Moments later, I boarded my bus to go home. A woman with a baby got on. They sat in the front seat and the baby looked all around. A stop or two later, another woman with a baby got on. The first baby got all excited and began gesturing wildly to the second baby.

The second mom moved seats so she could sit directly behind the first lady. And oh, the happiness of those two babies! They smiled and giggled and reached out to touch each other. They caressed each other's hair. Pure joy! And so simple and beautiful: "I'm a baby, you're a baby; let's be babies together!"

Peace. Love. In the end, it's all so simple, really.

And the little children shall lead them.

The soundtrack song is Dolly Parton with Ladysmith Black Mombazo, singing Peace Train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.