Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Great Blue Heron

This guy or gal was sitting well up in a tree above the farm pond when we walked by this morning. What intrigues me is that when I looked at the pond - at the water basically - to see if anything interesting was in or near it - I saw nothing. But then my eye was caught by what looked sort of like a broken off spot in a tree. I thought it might be just that, but on the other hand, it might be something more interesting - so I pointed my camera at it and zoomed in. Hello great blue heron! I love how one's eye catches an anomaly - and how I have learned to investigate it.

The extra is the scene at only 100-ish mm zoom - more like what my eye saw. Although I really couldn't tell it was a bird with my naked eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.