Handkerchief Doll or Pew Baby

The pocket handkerchief is about 400 years old but the history of the handkerchief goes back as far as Classical Greece & the Roman Empire.  Face cloths were used to absorb perspiration, to hide one's face or cover your mouth during adverse weather or to prevent infectious germs.  During Classical Greek times a perfumed cloth was used by the wealthy.

In the 19th century, ladies carried handkerchiefs in their hands rather than in their purse. During the Victorian Era, this made it possible to make signals across a room with your handkerchief in much the same way romantic signals were done with fans.  Handkerchiefs were considered the perfect gift for anyone, young or old, male or female, good friend or mere acquaintance.

During the Civil War & other times when supplies were scarce, dolls were made from handkerchiefs.  Also known as church dolls, they were one of the "Sunday toys" that children were allowed to play with only on Sunday.  Some mothers would put a sugar cube or some type of hard candy in the head of the doll for a young child to suck on to keep them quiet during the long church service.  The dolls didn't make a noise if they were dropped either.  

Other names for the handkerchief doll are; church baby, pew doll, pew baby or prayer doll.  My Pew Baby is currently wearing an orange ribbon for MS Awareness Month.

Yesterday, as well as making my Pew Baby, I made a jewelry set with more of my paper beads.  These will be part of a birthday present for my sister-in-law.

The batteries in the weather station died and so we had to lower the flag pole to access the station and change out the batteries.  While we were at it, we did a verification that it was doing accurate rainfall readings, cleaned the "green" from the flag pole and installed new rope.  Being fiberglass, the pole is lightweight and is easy to lower & raise.  Thanks Dad, I sure am enjoying my made from recycled material flagpole

As part of MS Awareness Month, I want you to know that for me, I fatigue very quickly.  As a result I rest often and anywhere.  When doing large tasks I will do a little, rest.  Do some more. Rest. Repeat.  It takes me much longer to get something done as a result but give me time and I will get it done.  You can laugh at this, but it is true!  I've been known to cat nap on the floor. Takes too much energy to get up so nap were I am and then get up!  

And just so you know, yes I talk to everyone about my MS and let them know I have it.  I don't do it to get sympathy or pity but to try and educate people on the face of MS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.