The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Avocets

The first avocets are back on the Allen Pool at Leighton Moss, and as the extra shows, they are in a Spring mood. This was my hundredth bird species of the year, it's taken much longer than usual to get there, but there aren't many finer birds to see on a birdversary.

Avocets are the symbol of the RSPB, one of the earliest of their conservation successes. It's ironic that some of the bird species with the most exacting habitat requirements are the easiest to cater for on carefully managed nature reserves.  That said, the first arrival of avocets at Leighton Moss about 20 years ago took everyone by surprise. The saline lagoons full of brine shrimps are right for them, but at that time they were a long way from their nearest breeding site.

Later in the day, as Gus and I returned from our early evening walk over the Knott, I saw my 101st species for the year. A woodcock was roding at dusk over Redhills Wood grunting and squeaking, then I saw two birds flying closely in formation, the breeding season is early this year. 

In between, I watched Wales beat Scotland, satisfying for my Welsh genes, but not convincing enough to feel any confidence about next Saturday's encounter with Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.