Arachne

By Arachne

Temporary information

I don't know about you but when I want a toilet I want it now and only temporarily. I don't care whether it will be there next week.

Almost all information givers (apart from those who have been trained to do it - teachers, marketers, designers of information graphics...) think about their own concerns rather than the needs of the information receiver. Like those visitors who tell you the time they are catching the train rather than its arrival time.

Clearly the fact that this is a temporary installation matters to the person with the A4 colour printer and the duct tape. What I glean is that they are probably responsible for when these toilets have to go back to the person who hired them out.

(I have a geekish interest in signs; spotting this today was probably triggered by my unconscious still processing the incomprehensible signage at the National Portrait Gallery yesterday.)

And apologies for lowering the tone. Pre-Christmas brain-mush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.