Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Rainbow over Southmead

A largely frustrating day.  Despite being told the doctors would review Mr T as the start of their rounds, they didn't arrive until almost 12:30.  As he was nil by mouth in anticipation he was starting to get hangry!  The phlebotomist didn't quite know what to say when she asked if she could take some blood and he said no not until he gets food!  She was OK when she realised he was joking!

Anyway, it turns out the gall stone is quite big and so the advice of the endoscopy team was needed, and as this is now the 4th time he has been in hospital due to the issue, and the second time it has caused sepsis they actually want to get to the bottom of it and resolve it once and for all.  There are only certain slots when these things are done and they said it would be Wednesday which is when I was supposed to be having the injection in my hip.  I managed to move that to next Tuesday and then they came back and said no, it would be Friday!  Grr!  The nurse who came back to tell us was most apologetic.  Although his temperature is still spiking due to the sepsis and we said at least a few extra days waiting gives his body more time to recover from that before they start poking around.  She liked that way of looking at it.  The nursing staff have been so kind, and they appreciate the bits that I do.  I would do it anyway but having a lanyard with carer written on it seems to count for something, and it does take some of the burden away from them.  Plus some of them make sure I get a cup of coffee when they come around.

The ERCP has to be done with a spy glass apparently which is a special piece of kit, and needs a specific person to do it.  So although the wait is a pain, and means he won't be home until next week it is actually better as it means they are taking care this time.  It can cause pancreatitis and due to his history it is a higher risk, so we will have to wait and see.

I decided to pop in for a quick swim on the way home, just 40 lengths but it was nice.  Got home and went to get the house keys out of my coat pocket and they weren't there!  I thought they might have fallen out in the restaurant but I would probably have seen them.  Luckily Mum and Dad have a spare set so up to there, and all the destressing of the swim was evaporating!  As I drove back I had an idea that I had left them in the porch door, as I don't need a key to lock the external door, and sure enough there they were!

Maybe I could find the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow if my luck would change!  This is the view from Mr T's room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.