Sizzling Hot Steak Fajitas

Things were starting off quite well, for a Monday. I had plans to meet a dear girlfriend for lunch, at a venue neither of us had tried before. Just before I left work to meet her, I popped into Facebook only to discover that the Arboretum had posted the winning pictures from its winter photo contest; the first-place shot was mine!

I was to meet my girlfriend at Plaza Mexican at the juncture of South Atherton and University Drive. According to our server, the place is pretty laid-back early in the week, and very crowded Thursday through the weekend. Of course, I took a few minutes to look around. You may see a colorful interior shot in the extras.

And then my friend arrived, and we ordered: a salad with chicken for her, and the lunch portion of steak fajitas for me.  I admit that I gave a tiny (happy) scream when the fajitas showed up at my elbow, all sizzling hot and smoky and loud.

Above is a shot of the hot skillet that featured the steak, bell peppers, and onions. A slightly smaller plate (not shown) contained rice, refried beans, pico de gallo, sour cream, grated cheese, and three tortillas.

The venue was quite nice, the service was good to very good, and the steak fajitas, well, dare I say it? . . . they were EXCELLENT! It was as pleased as I've ever been with my first experience at any local restaurant. And yes, I will be going back!

The song to accompany this little foodie tale is the Power Station, with Some Like It Hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.