A sight too often seen

All round the Mediterranean you will find half finished buildings abandoned or offered for rent. No different in Cyprus.

People have been warning for years of the limits to growth. After all, who can afford to possess myriads of properties all over the world.

Yesterday, I read that there are more people over 65 than under 5. How will they even be able to afford a home to live in?

We travelled to the Baths of Aphrodite today, a spring found just inside the Akamas national park, a wonderful treasure trove of the island's flora and fauna. I hope it will be preserved. George tells us that the president of Cyprus is closely involved with tourist development, or building villas, and does not consider the wider issues of the flight from the land. So much abandoned agriculture.

I'd like to post an extra photo from my phone to show how beautifully blue the sea is but I don't know if that will happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.