Blip 2000

It's taken me a long time to get to this significant number; I posted only 92 blips in 2018, about half the number I posted in 2017. 

This is my seventh blip in 2019. I took it in late March, on our Road Scholar trip in Arizona. The folks looking up at at Spider Rock, a red sandstone spire rising 750 feet (229 meters) above the floor of Canyon de Chelly National Monument, are our Road Scholar colleagues, one of whom was my husband, Pilipo.

Canyon de Chelly [pronounced "shay"] is within the boundaries of the Navajo Nation. Navajo drivers took us into the canyon in four-wheel drive vehicles, fording the water that makes it possible for Navajo families to keep livestock there and grow crops during the more temperate months. You can read more about this remarkable place here.

I've included a photo of our Navajo driver describing what we were seeing in the canyon, and three photos I took of Canyon de Chelly from its rim. It was a deeply moving experience to be there, and in all the other Native American sites we visited on this trip.

I hope that posting my 2000th blip will mark my slow return to greater involvement in this virtual community in which I've gained dear friends. 

Blip 2000

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.