My Year

By Dunworkin

What the *#%@!

This morning I was looking for some spare wooden flooring which I'd stored away up in the roof space.

There is no light in there, and whilst crawling around I came face to face with this construction. Gave me quite a surprise.

It's an old wasp nest. I know this because we always find wasps nests around the house and garden and I have to eradicate them with wasp nest killer. Usually they get no bigger than 5-6" in diameter before I spot them, but these guys were going into the roof space under a tile which was slightly raised. Obviously they had been constructing a home for quite some time before I spotted them and did the usual extermination act.

It is about 2ft 6in across so is by far the biggest nest I've ever seen. Now I just have to decide whether to go back in there and clean it all out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.