La vida de Annie

By Annie

Mahon.

Hospital appointment today in Mahon with the surgeon who sawed up my shoulder 4 weeks ago. He was satisfied with the healing and pleased that I have been trying to move it, but surprised that I had no exercise plan or appointment to see a physio - apparently I should have been given these on discharge but wasn't. He reassured me that "the train hasn't gone yet, you can still get on it" and said it would be a good 3 months before any improvement is seen. He described in nauseating detail what he had cut through - the tendons, clavicle and head of the humerus, which accounts for the ongoing pain. I asked for more painkillers, as the paracetamol I take doesn't even touch it, so he wrote an illegible precription which I didn't think to query (I can't take ibuprofen and aspirin-type stuff since my head injury). The chemist had no trouble reading it, and charged 16 cents for the pack. This aroused my suspicion of course, so googled it later, to find it's an NSAID (like aspirin etc) widely used in Spain but actually banned in the UK, USA and Australia as it can cause horrible side effects including sepsis and killing white blood cells. I went to a different chemist for paracetamol with codeine.
Meanwhile here's a panorama of the port.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.