MikeWest

By MikeWest

Woodland Spotlight

What a difference from yesterday as we hit 70F! I immediately warmed (pun intended) to this scene when I saw it. I just loved the pattern of light and shade through the image, the depth that creates and the detail of all the twisted branches and twigs.

Although I tried taking the shot from various positions and they all seem to be work, I liked this one because of the depth going back to the left of the image, i.e. opposite to the light.  I focused on getting the main bunch of stems left of centre in the spotlight of the setting sun and debated about whether to leave the straight trunk on the right as it might be distracting. The other element that's a bit quirky is the horizontal branch across the centre, but in the end I quite liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.