world-changing women

Asha and I began the day by joining in with local charity, Bsplash, in a litter clean up in the countryside. They're an environmental awareness charity and I have the privilege of being their photographer! Sofie (pictured) is a local woman who set it all up. Asha is totally inspired by her and reckons she wants to be Sofie's partner. 
Home and tired, edited all the pics from the morning's clean up session...then out to see Asha's friends for an ice cream...and from there to a party of a school friend. We've never had a social date with this school friend, so it was a big deal! They're a Moroccan family, and we thought we were going to a party...what we didn't realise was that we were the only guests!! I was totally blown away by their hospitality and generosity... They cooked up a huuuuge feast (and sent me home with loads of food), had bought Asha a silver necklace to match Janat's necklace, and were just SO incredibly kind. My tea cup was at no point empty (gorgeous sweet and bitter Moroccan mint tea) and neither was my plate. The kids had a blast together and I truly felt welcomed and relaxed in their home. A complete and unexpected gift of an evening.

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Women like Sofie inspiring the next generation to love and care for our planet.
2) Unexpected hospitality and friendship...and discovering J's Mom has dyed blonde hair!!! Shock of the evening!! Never seen her without her headscarf before!
3) The kids being in bed and asleep - I feel shattered!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.