April in Iceland

Disclaimer, I did not take this today, I did not even take it myself, but received it as promised from another Hotel guest at the Rangá, Hella Iceland. 

The photographer, Austin McKahan, with his Nikon on a tripod, asked me to push the shutter for him while he posed with his wife that evening. He then asked us if we would like to be in photograph as well. Of course we said yes, and he took our photograph and email address promising he would send us a copy. After a wait, the photo arrived and we are so thrilled to have it. I did do an edit, taking out the front of a car in the hotel parking lot. The strangely colored snow in the background is from the hotel lights. It seemed okay break the rules after 3271 honest entries.  Forgive me, but this was one of the most emotionally momentous days of my life, sharing it in an extra just wasn't enough for me.

The extra is a tribute to the power of blifoto, the ability to come to know an Icelander on this site and to have the pleasure and luck to meet her three times in person. 2012 in Boston, 2017 by chance or was it meant to be, at Keflavik Airport, Iceland, and April 2019, Hveragardi, Iceland, her home town.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny and warm for April.

All hands happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.