Light in Darkness?

I've been burning the candle at both ends the last week or so, and this morning needed to get out on the moor for the sake of my body, my mind and my soul.

Friends of ours today are having one of those days of such pain and darkness that despite the hope of better days will mark their lives always. So running today alone and thinking of them was to pray.

A year ago tomorrow I blipped the same scene, so easy with the sun out to believe that light wins. Today was more of a struggle in the murky, foggy, dirty, muddy place that it was up there where I ran.

So we sing "this is Christmas" but there are times and moments and things that make it real hard to know that the "light wins and the darkness cannot overcome it", but my lived out and observed experience is that somehow that is true in the mess that we find ourselves in.
My expressed prayer for my friends and for so many others who find themselves struggling to see where the light is, is that heaven might touch earth where they are- that sums up for me the story of all the sheep and shepherds and donkeys and wise men and a baby in a barn.

I watched on youtube a documentary this morning about the lovely Kate Rusby, she has the sweetest voice and I love that and her northerness which she wears proudly, but also that she seems in her art to understand the profound strength and fragility in us all.
I'll leave you with Kate -Falling.

I've just reread the journal - I sound miserable, which I'm not, I'm really ok just needing to find an authentic place to sit with all the joy of life and the other stuff

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.