The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Trainee Son Of A Jeremy Vine Adopted Allomtmenteer

Now here is something I haven't done for probably twenty five years!

With dad still crocked after his hernia op, I had to go up with him to the allotment this afternoon to get the veg for the Christmas dinner. It was the first time dad said he had been up the allotment for over four weeks. The fact he was finally well enough just simply instruct me on what to do is amazing in itself, I honestly didn't think we would be just a few days ago. I think we may be okay now you know!

I have to confess I have very little idea on growing stuff like my dad does. My brother got the green fingers I'm afraid. As you can see from this photo he kept a very close eye on proceedings as I dug up some monster parsnips! I also dug up a few leeks and plucked a few Brussels Sprouts from their slumber on the stalks .. Christmas dinner isn't Christmas dinner without some proper allotment Brussels!

I have put some more photos (that my mum took) up on Flickr.

There had been a serious crash on Trealaw road when we got there, and the main road to the allotment was closed. The air ambulance was in attendance and parked on the bowling green. Someone's Christmas just got ruined!

I did a spot of bird watching whilst there, and was delighted to see Kestrel hovering just behind the allotment towards Penrhys Hill.

We are just off out to the Indian next door but one for our office Christmas Party .. I hope we can get home! ;O)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.