La vida de Annie

By Annie

Nearly sorted...

The last of the internet present purchases arrived today, the washing's fleetingly up-to-date, most of the wrapping's done, the turkey and pud have been delivered, and most of the Christmas grocery shopping was done today in a surprisingly not-very-busy supermarket; I'd heard horror stories of people queueing to park only to find no spaces and then queueing to leave again without getting out of the car. I realised how much I've improved over the last year when in public places; although the lights, crowds and noise still disturb me, I no longer turn into a whimpering wreck with hands clapped to my ears, if a small child makes that unsolicited prolonged high-pitched squealing noise which gives the impression they're being garotted (and not quickly and efficiently enough for my taste). I blame the iPod generation of young parents, whose hearing must be so damaged by constant sound and X-factor type craparooney that they do not actually hear the appalling vocalisations of their offspring and see no need to check them. My own four were strictly controlled on the behaviour front by yours truly - I never needed to lift a finger in anger as my patented SpecialStare always kept them in line. It still works on some kids now - I can take bookings at reasonable rates...

Unfortunately no cards have been posted, and only some hand-delivery ones written, but it's probably too late to start now so I'm happily shrugging off that chore. Lots of cleaning and tidying still to do before all the offspring descend, but that can wait till tomorrow. Time to chill a bit now after a busy but enjoyable day.

The weather was utter shite very poor indeed again today, so just to generate some cheery colour I fiddled with this blip of a patterned light on the Christmas tree (erected by #1 daughter and #2 son last week - thanks guys, I couldn't have done it).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.