Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Baltic Wharf, Bristol

This is my view for the next few days. Believe it or not, Bristol has a campsite for motorhomes and caravans right by the water (River Avon) in the city centre. Well, I can’t quite see this from my Campervan, but if I walk through the gate there it is. Campervans aren’t just for the Lake District and Devon - they’re also great for city breaks!  Even if not all cities have a site quite as central as this one. I’m right by the marina and not far from the SS Great Britain.

I arrived early afternoon, got settled and decided to relax a bit in the sunshine - I’m really tired from my last trip and today is probably the only sunny day of the few days I’ll be here.

By late afternoon I was ready to explore a bit and look for something to eat. I walked along the harbourfront, towards the city centre, looking at many different kinds of boats and admiring the new residential developments on what used to be the historic docklands. Ooh - I can tell already I’m going to love it here!  

There were lots of interesting places to eat but I was eager to be RIGHT by the water, so I decided to get fish and chips from a popular and busy small fish restaurant, and took the box and sat where I had a good view of the setting sun. I watched paddle boarders, kayakers, sailboats and water taxis.

I finally pulled myself away and walked back ‘home’, but then went exploring a bit more around the basin where the campsite is. Check out the Extra photo - you can see the pub all lit up on the right - to the left of that are the roofs of the motorhomes just over the fence of the campsite. What a fab location!  This is a popular site, booked up almost entirely between now and November!  I was lucky to find 4 nights available just a month ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.