CROWDED NEWCASTLE QUAYSIDE

First of all intended going to Hexham today.  However I woke up rather late, then three parcels arrived which of course I just had to open, then I went online to check blip, Facebook etc.... and it got too late to go to Hexham.  Silly me. 

So I decided to head for Newcastle to check out the rugby Fanzone on the Quayside.  Its been a  big rugby weekend in Newcastle with two matches played at St James Park ( home of Newcastle United ).  Last night two French teams payed in the European Challenge Cup Final and today at 5pm Leinster ( from Ireland ) played Saracens ( an English side ) in the Heineken Champions Cup Final.  Newcastle was expecting 80,000 visitors to the city. Neil and Rachael had tickets for the match today - and some of Rachael's relatives from Ireland had come over to attend. They are staying in an Airbnb in Tynemouth.  The Irish fans would be disappointed this evening as Saracens won the match.

Back to this afternoon ......I got off the bus in Gateshead and walked down to the Quayside intending to cross over the river to the Newcastle quayside where the Fanzone was. However when I looked over to the other side I could see it was very crowded so I just stayed south of the river and took my photos.  I could still soak up the atmosphere and hear the music.  And as an added bonus the University boat races were taking place - Newcastle Uni v Durham Uni. 

My blip shows some of the crowded Fanzone area and one of the university boats. I have added an extra of the crowds outside the Law Courts with the big screen and also the Millennium Bridge.

I have tagged my blip for Silly Saturday as of course it really should have been a blip taken in Hexham - I should have " got my act together " and made more of an effort. Thanks to admirer for hosting.

Musical link THE IN CROWD by Petula Clark.

After spending a while by the river I walked back to Gateshead and did some shopping in Tesco.

The weather has mostly been warm and sunny apart from 10 mins of very heavy rain while I was waiting at the bus stop.  Luckily I had my brolly with me or I would have got soaked pretty quickly.

Steps today - 9,690

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.