Dementia Days of our Lives

I have thought long and hard about whether I should use this shot and the one in extras today.  One of my cousins got very upset last week when I posted a photo of Mom and my sister.  She said she wanted to remember my Mom as she used to be, not as she is now.  I can understand that.  BUT, I believe that we need to know about dementia - it has been hidden away for too long and we need to share the pain and the moments of joy that come with it.  This image shows truth and love.

When I started blipping six years ago, one of my aims was to record the progress of Mom's dementia.  This is where we are today.  She is in a nursing home with very limited speech and little mobility.  Incontinent and scared but very much loved.

Many of you know that one of my nephews has been through very difficult times and now has the opportunity to start over again.  He was very scared while he was unable to see his grandparents that they would die before he could see them again.  He was upset to see his Granny like this today but that didn't stop him getting next to her on her bed and holding her in his arms.  She held on to him and stroked him.  She has become more tactile over the last few days.  He also took his turn in giving her some chocolate mousse (See extra).

And so, this is where we are in the dementia days.  Waiting.  Loving. Praying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.