CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Gasworks Choir in concert in Bristol

As Helena was away I indulged myself with a bit of a lie-in today. It was a gorgeous morning with the first indications of summer warmth after the recent cool weather. I feel I ought to have done some gardening but instead I started to manage the organising and processing of photos which has been a pressing issue, what with my back-up hard drive problems. 

I set off about 1pm, and just about on time, for my trip to Bristol to hear a concert by the Gasworks Choir at St Alban’s church. I wanted to go as my great friend Pip had invited me. He has been a keen singer, with a fine Welsh voice, and has been closely involved with this choir for many years, I saw, and blipped them when they performed at a charity event at Bath. I missed them when they sang at the Glastonbury Festival a couple of times.

The choir seems to have a large membership and they all performed today spread across the width of the church in front of the altar. But my picture is of just a section of mostly men, as I liked the light. They were following their two conductors, a husband and wife team, who introduced the various songs. The performance started with a Fijian gospel and ran on to songs by Carole King, Nick Lowe (to my great delight), Stephen Sondheim, an Irish folk tune, a hornpipe from Handel’s Water Music and others. 

The choir split into different groupings for many songs, some with just a few voices, and also a sub group called the Gasmen, who also perform independently, which Pip particularly enjoys. I loved the whole event. 

Pip and I went back to his house to sit in the garden and chat, before he had to return for the evening concert. I drove home in time to welcome Helena off the evening train in Stroud. A fine day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.