Kipsie

By Kipsie

Blinded by the light

revved up like a deuce,
another runner in the night.

For years I've wondered what  Manfred Mann was singing about. The title of of my abstract made me think of the lyrics again .. I'm talking, well, Manfred Man released the song in 1976, so that long. I know I was working in Sweden  at the time. Pre Google etc. Now, today I know. Manfred Mann tweaked the original lyrics written by Bruce Springsteen, the Deuce refers to the 1932 Ford Coupe, a  hot-rod used for drag racing.
Enlightenment over .. I can concentrate on listening to the track on YouTube.

What's happened today. Well Lucy escaped AGAIN this morning, it took a little longer catching her as she flew up onto the curtain rail, where I could'nt reach easily, not safe enough to attempting catching an African Grey parrot anyway. One challenge too many, and so early in the day. Eventually captured and secured. Her cage re-positioned, 2 doors tight against the wall, the other a chair back against it. I'm not taking any chances. You know when prisoners are in solitary, the food is passed through a narrow slit in the door. That will be how I shall be feeding Lucy tomorrow morning. lol!! She likes dry toast .... fortunately.  Jorgie and I had a walk up & around Ideford Common. The "travellers" have moved back in amongst the trees on a little used track .. 7 vehicles, a mixture of battered old caravans, & camper vans + 1 car. Cassie & I had a mooch around Jo's field & poly tunnel, some Lychnis coronaria seedlings caught my eye, & Jo's just been in to see if I can look after Monty & Dixie tomorrow while she's working, so took the opportunity of asking if I could nab some for my new front garden border. "Help yourself".  Eww! Thank you! Perfect! The back garden is really looking great with loads of hot colours plus a whole patch of of white anemones. Arghhh!! The box was mixed. What's the chance of that happening, anyway they will have to  re-locate to the front garden once they've finished flowering, the lawn rejuvenated and the border re shaped. Parrots, fed, watered, trays cleaned, dogs fed, watered, exercised. It was time for another hospital visit. 2 days ago I had to see the speech therapist, I stopped doing the Mitsuku tongue exercise once I was eating okay but apparently I have to do this exercise, 10 reps everyday til I pop my clogs. Today was my 3 monthly check up with the consultant. All tickety boo with me, but as I was leaving I bumped into a lovely man I met on the day we were having our ENT biopsy ops. We, all the patients for that day, had to check in at 7am, John went down for his op at 3.30pm, I was last to go down at 4pm, so we had quite a chat. Our paths crossed a few times after during different appointments, the last time I saw him he was'nt very well at all, & there was talk of having a tongue graft. I've often wondered how he was getting on. You never know with cancer, anyway there he was today, had a pretty rough journey. Spent 3 months having daily decompression chamber treatment in Plymouth, in an attempt to repair damaged tissue in his throat/neck.  All his dietary intake through a tube. I AM SO VERY LUCKY.  He is making his first trip abroad in two weeks time. Loads to get in place, stuff required by the airline because he needs to wear a backpack containing a pump to administer his feed, but they are going. I hope the travel & visit to relations in France all goes smoothly for him and his wife. They have certainly been through a lot over the past 3 and a bit years, both deserve a break.

Time to take the dogs out to stretch their legs before dinner. Not sure what that's going to be yet. Something quick & easy that's for sure.

Back to the abstract blip .... any ideas? There's a clue in the title :)

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting. Think I may have missed the layers tag. Ops!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.