Village....

.....................of Kneeton


This small village consisting of a church and a handful of buildings and situated near the River Trent in Nottinghamshire has a great deal of meaning to me.

In 1842 my ancestors left this village to start the long journey to their new home in Nelson, New Zealand.

The church was filled with flowers in preparation for a wedding the following day and looking lovely. The locals were friendly and helpful as we wandered along the narrow lanes wondering where my gr gr grandparents had lived. Possibly their home is no longer standing, but it was wonderful to think I was walking along paths they possibly trod all this years ago.

Thank you for the comments and stars for my previous blip - this last week has zoomed by and I’m well behind with everything. At present our days are filled to the brim with little quiet time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.