Afternoon on the beach

Now seems as good a time as any to do my blip. It has been very hot today - far hotter than yesterday. At 10, after Mollie had gone to work and Jon and Henry to archery, I loaded my bike up and cycled to the allotment. I planted some French beans, and weeded around the strawberries. It was very slow progress, even with my hat on and a garden umbrella for shade. Jon delivered a few bean sticks and at 12.30 I went home. We sat in the garden for coffee on our new garden chairs, but there was no breeze at all and it was very hot.

With no one else to worry about, we decided to gather up a few bits for lunch and head to the beach. We've been here ever since. I paddled to cool down, but no more. There have been people in the sea but not many on the beach compared to the summer, so I guess they are all locals. The tide is creeping up to meet us now, so I think we will be moving before too long. Let's hope we get more days like this throughout the summer. It's been like being on holiday!

The ironing? It will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.