YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

10th June 1944

During the week of D-day somehow or other my mam and dad managed to get married.  All leave was cancelled and my mam thought the wedding would not be going ahead until she received a telegram 48 hours before to say my dad had managed to get leave.  His best man (also in the navy) managed to make it too.  My dad was a submariner so I can only think that perhaps submarines did not play a big part in D-day.  

My mam had just turned 20 on the 7th June. so an exciting week .  Her wedding suit was a pale silvery blue colour.  They married in a registry office and had a small reception back and my mam's parents house.  They were happily married for 39 years until my dad died in 1983.  

I have attached a close up of them in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.