Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Three out of Four...

...the number of times I've blipped Downy Woodpeckers in the last four days.  Can't help myself.  There are fledgling woodpeckers all over the garden right now, peeping their little hearts out, asking to be fed.  Today's offering is an adult female (left) with a juvenile female.  That thin thread of saliva between their bills is something I commonly see when adults are feeding young.  I wonder if the adults produce extra saliva to help the youngsters swallow their food more easily?  I'll have to do some research on that.  Anyway, I can't promise that you won't see more shots like this - there are just a few short weeks that I'll be able to observe this behavior, so I'm planning to take full advantage.

I'm very happy to report that MIL is back in her retirement home as of around 2 this afternoon. They are doing some assessments to come up with some physical therapy for her, as well as maybe some occupational therapy.  The goal being to prevent more falls.  Fingers crossed.

My walk this morning was great fun although overcast skies and slightly cool temps kept the dragons and damsels in hiding.  As well as the rattle snakes.  But in spite of it all, we had a lovely time.  Back home by mid-afternoon in plenty of time to stake out the woodpeckers.  

Nest boxes inspected - all House Wren nestlings have feathers and look healthy.  See a cell phone shot in Extra.  This is the box that had 7 eggs and I can't tell for certain if all seven hatched as I only count six in this photo.  Could be one under the pile, though. About another week until they fledge.

Thanks for the love on yesterday's young songster - much appreciated!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.