Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Mungo

Had a few things to do in Glasgow this afternoon but, given the weather forecast, wasn't planning to hang around too long - and certainly not planning to add to my 'Oor Wullie' collection (see yesterday's blip).

On many recent visits to the city I had noticed a new statue up by the City of Glasgow College on Cathedral Street and wondered who was the subject. Since I was passing that way today I went up to have a look and discovered that it's of Glasgow's patron saint, Saint Mungo, sculpted by Roddy McDowell. (My original photo has been posted as an extra.)

I also discovered that it's almost impossible to walk around Glasgow city centre without encountering these Oor Wullie creations. I came across six or seven without trying and, in fact, there was one on the same patch of campus as the above sculpture of St Mungo.

I've spared you further evidence on today's blip entry, but not making any promises for the future just in case I'm in need of an Emergency Blip any time soon. As one fellow Blipper said, they are rather gaudy, even if they're for a good cause. Wonder what Mungo would have thought of it all?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.